Principal Update: March 2018

Dear Parents/Guardians:

It is hard to believe it is already March and that spring is fast approaching. Now that March has arrived it means the end of Second Trimester is upon us. Second Trimester ends on Tuesday, March 13, 2018, so please help    ensure your student is doing what they need to do to close out the Trimester strong.

Conferences and Forecasting:

Spring Conferences will be held on Thursday evening April 19, 4:00 – 7:30 PM and Friday morning April 20, 8:00 – 11:30 AM. These conferences will be “parent/teacher” conference and the format will be the same as the fall   conferences, arena style.

Testing Schedule (there may be some slight changes or adjustment if needed):

Tuesday May 1, 2018, 8th graders who have an EVEN period Science Class: Science MSP

Wednesday May 2, 2018, 8th graders who have an ODD period Science Class: Science MSP

Tuesday May 8, 2018, ALL 6th Graders – SBAC ELA Performance Task

Wednesday May 9, 2018, ALL 7th Graders – SBAC ELA Performance Task

Thursday May 10, 2018, ALL 8th Graders – SBAC ELA Performance Task

Friday May 11, 2018, ALL 6th Graders – SBAC ELA and MATH Computer Adaptive Test

Monday May 14, 2018, ALL 7th Graders – SBAC ELA and MATH Computer Adaptive Test

Tuesday May 15, 2018, ALL 8th Graders – SBAC ELA and MATH Computer Adaptive Test

Wednesday May 16, 2018, ALL 6th Graders – SBAC Math Performance Task

Thursday May 17, 2018, ALL 7th Graders – SBAC Math Performance Task

Friday May 18, 2018, ALL 8th Graders – SBAC Math Performance Task

MSP Science is estimated to take 90 – 120 minutes, students will have all day to complete test but we are giving a 1/2 day for Science.

The SBAC testing can be done over multiple days but we are dedicating 3 full days of testing for each grade level based on feedback from students. 8th Graders will have 4 dedicated days of testing spread out over 3 weeks (only 8th graders do the Science MSP) and 6th and 7th graders will have 3 dedicated days of testing, spread out over 2 weeks. 

It is important that students are in attendance on the days they are scheduled to test and we thank you for       supporting your student in their efforts.

Track is our fourth and final sports season and clearing for track starts on Thursday, March 8, 2018, with the 1st day of practice on Tuesday, April 10, 2018, the second day after Spring Break.

Finally, at this point, we have not heard about the Snow Make Up, but we are planning to hold the 8th grade       Assembly and Party on Friday June 15, 2018, as originally scheduled.

I look forward to continuing to work with your student and prepare them to be successful in high school.

Thank you,

Tom Adams

Principal TJMS

 

2018-03-05T09:24:08+00:00March 5th, 2018|Principal update|
Translate »